Alternate certificate replacement

Oct 25, 2007 at 7:27 PM
Seeing as I am a victim of the installer not working (I voted on the issue that I am experiencing), is there another way of forcing the OS to use the CA-issued certificate, as opposed to an existing self-signed certificate (SSC)?
I'd like to not have to:
  1. Decrypt user files
  2. Backup self-signed certificate
  3. Remove SSC
  4. Import CA-issued certificate
  5. Re-encrypt all files

I have about 120 laptops users out there, and they are not always connected to the network. I am sure that something like System Center would help with reporting and such, but I don't have that deployed yet.

How can I force a computer to use the CA cert, and to update the existing encrypted files?

Thanks!
Coordinator
Oct 26, 2007 at 4:52 PM
Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention, and I'm sorry that the installer was so broken.

I have uploaded a new installer for this utility which should resolve the installation problems you and others have experienced, so hopefully you won't need a manual solution for your SSC migration. Please download version 1.1 and try it, and please let me know if there are still problems (same or new).

Now, for the record I would like to address one aspect of the steps you've outlined that shouldn't be necessary (with or without this utility):
  • If you update a user's EFS configuration to use a new digital certificate, you shouldn't need to decrypt the user's files
  • There are two ways that you could avoid this time-consuming (and insecure, of course) extra step:
    • Manually overwrite the certificate hash currently in the Registry's CertificateHash setting with the value of the CA-issued certificate - this is difficult to get right, and is a daunting task for most non-programming-friendly systems administrators (of which I was one up until a year ago), which is why I created the EFS Certificate Configuration Updater utility in the first place